Home: The Eternal Father Eucharistic Adoration Chapel

The Stations of the Cross

V. We adore Thee, O Christ, and we bless Thee.
R. Because by Thy Holy Cross, Thou hast redeemed the world.

Tradition has it that when Our Lady was living in Jerusalem, she had never failed, ever since Our Lord's death, to follow His path to Calvary with tears of compassion. She had paced out and measured all the distances between the Stations of that Via Crucis, and her love for her Son made her unable to live without this constant contemplation of His sufferings. At each Station, she sat down and renewed the mystery of its significance in her heart, praising the Lord for His love with tears of compassion.

The purpose of the Stations of the Cross is to remind us of the effects of sin and the salvation won for us through the suffering, death and resurrection of Jesus. As we meditate on the Stations, we are moved to renounce sin and to accept Jesus as our Savior.


Oh my God I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee, and I detest all my sins, because I dread the loss of heaven and the pains of hell; but most of all because they offend Thee, my God, who art all-good and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve, with the help of Thy grace, to confess my sins, to do penance, and to amend my life. Amen.

My Lord Jesus Christ, You have made this journey to die for me with love unutterable, and I have so many times unworthily abandoned You; but now I love You with my whole heart, and because I love You, I repent sincerely for having ever offended You. Pardon me, my God, and permit me to accompany You on this journey. You go to die for love of me; I wish also, my beloved Redeemer, to die for love of You. My Jesus, I will live and die always united to You.

Jesus is Nailed to the Cross

  Home   Home

Next   1st Station: Jesus is Condemned to Death  

"Were You There?"

Cross Act of Contrition
Stations of the Cross
First Station Eighth Station
Second Station Ninth Station
Third Station Tenth Station
Fourth Station Eleventh Station
Fifth Station Twelfth Station
Sixth Station Thirteenth Station
  Seventh Station Fourteenth Station
Closing Prayer

www.streaminglightdesign.com This website was developed by Streaming Light Design, Inc.